Background Newsroom Oreca


Pour accéder à l'espace presse, vous devez saisir le mot de passe dans le champ ci-dessous :

24 Hours of Le Mans: Signatech Alpine Matmut and ORECA triumph once again!

Communiqués EN
Partager via :

In the wake of an intense 24-hour sprint, the #36 Alpine A470 designed by ORECA Technology and fielded by the Signatech Alpine Matmut team made motorsport history on Sunday 16 June 2019 by claiming the top step on the LMP2 class podium at the 87th running of the 24 Hours of Le Mans.


TOYOTA GAZOO Racing wins the 24 Hours of Le Mans for the second year in a row.

Like in 2018, TOYOTA GAZOO Racing’s Sébastien Buemi, Kazuki Nakajima and Fernando Alonso won the legendary race at the wheel of the #8 Toyota TS050 HYBRID. Providing operational support to TOYOTA GAZOO Racing, the Groupe ORECA is proud to share this win with the entire team. This victory is a just reward for all of its dedication and hard work.

Rebellion Racing just off the podium.

Two occurrences during the race ended Rebellion Racing’s hopes for an LMP1 podium finish. As the third provisional spot was firmly in the hands of Gustavo Menezes, Nathanaël Berthon and Thomas Laurent at the wheel of the #3 R13, a penalty imposed for violating tyre regulations during a safety car intervention and a spin out on Sunday morning put to rest any possibility of reaching the overall podium. The #1 R13 sister car driven by Bruno Senna, Neel Jani and André Lotterer finished fourth.


Fifth consecutive victory for ORECA chassis!

For the fifth year in a row, ORECA chassis dominated the 24 Hours of Le Mans, culminating in an all-ORECA podium at the Super Season finale! At 15:00, after a long battle over several hours against G-Drive Racing then Jota Sport, Signatech Alpine Matmut’s Alpine A470 designed by ORECA Technology triumphed. The team was joined on the podium by the ORECA 07s of Jackie Chan DC Racing by Jota (Aubry/Richelmi/Tung) and TDS Racing (Perrodo/Duval/Vaxivière). Like the ORECA 05 chassis before it (KCMG in 2015 and Signatech-Alpine in 2016), the ORECA 07 chassis continues to add to its series of wins after 2017 (Jota) and 2018 (Signatech-Alpine).

Third stars for the “Bleus” of Signatech Alpine Matmut.

Though G-Drive Racing’s #26 Aurus 01 had been engaged in a real mano a mano with Signatech Alpine Matmut, it was delayed by 20 minutes in its garage, allowing the #36 to take off after the win. The Signatech Alpine Matmut car then led by more than a lap the #38 ORECA 07 fielded by Jackie Chan DC Racing, its rival for the LMP2 crown. TDS Racing rounded out the provisional podium two laps behind the #36. For his last race with the French team before joining Cool Racing next season, Nicolas Lapierre celebrated his fourth win in four starts in the LMP2 class at the 24 Hours of Le Mans. Bravo!

Anthony Megevand, ORECA Customer Service Racing Manager: “Defending a win at the 24 Hours of Le Mans is never an easy undertaking. To win for the fifth consecutive time is a result we truly value! It’s a source of immense pride, an honour and a wonderful reward for all of the work done by every member of the ORECA Technology teams. The performance level – with the hat trick, pole position and best in-race lap – and reliability, with nine cars at the finish, all came together. Signatech Alpine Matmut and its drivers did a flawless race. It’s obviously special to see Nicolas Lapierre win for the fourth time, proof of the grand champion that he is. He formed a fantastic trio with Pierre Thiriet and André Negrão. Congratulations to the ‘Bleus.’ We are thrilled to share the ORECA 07 adventure with the entire team and to celebrate our 32nd win in just 30 months today.”