Background Newsroom Oreca


Pour accéder à l'espace presse, vous devez saisir le mot de passe dans le champ ci-dessous :

Jota Sport asserts itself in Asian LMS, G-Drive Racing confirms with the title!

Communiqués EN
Partager via :

This weekend, 6 ORECA chassis (4 ORECA 07 and 2 Aurus 01) had an appointment in Abu Dhabi on the Yas Marina Circuit for the final of the Asian Le Mans Series. With 52 points, the maximum, the #26 Aurus 01 from G-Drive Racing was the clear favorite. Phoenix Racing’s #5 ORECA 07 and G-Drive’s #25 were tied on 30 points, while Jota’s #28 had 26 points and Racing Team India had 22.

In Friday’s qualifying session, the two Aurus 01’s once again showed their full potential by dominating one session each. With four poles for four races, Roman Rusinov’s G-Drive Racing team could not have hoped for a better result.

For its part, Team Jota Sport achieved the feat of repairing its car after Tom Blomqvist went off the track during practice the day before. The duo of drivers Sean Gelael and Tom Blomqvist took their first revenge of the weekend by driving and taking fifth and third place in qualifying.

In the afternoon, Jota Sport’s ORECA 07 #28, which started from fifth position, had a superb race and won with one lap ahead of G-Drive’s Aurus 01 #26. A small miracle after the misadventures of the day before. Phoenix Racing’s #5 ORECA 07 completed the podium, followed by Racing Team India’s #64 and Era Motorsport’s #18, which won the LMP2-Am.

With three neutralizations and very small gaps at the finish, the final race of the 2021 season was rich in strategy and suspense. Despite a collision with a GT car and a fierce battle with the #25 G-Drive Racing car, the #28 Jota Sport car doubled its lead and won the final, again with the tandem of Sean Gelael and Tom Blomqvist.

While G-Drive Racing’s #26 finished in fourth place behind Phoenix Racing’s #5 and ahead of Racing Team India’s #64, it was the #26 from G-Drive Racing that won the points and allowed the Russian team to take the title for the second year in a row! The trio of Yifei Ye, Ferdinand Habsburg, Rene Binder and G-Drive Racing were crowned and G-Drive Racing won its invitation to the Le Mans 24 Hours.

Also of note: the title of Era Motorsport in the LMP2 Am category and the fine performances of Phoenix Racing and Racing Team India, who made a very encouraging debut with their ORECA 07s.