Background Newsroom Oreca


Pour accéder à l'espace presse, vous devez saisir le mot de passe dans le champ ci-dessous :

A masterful win for PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports at Sebring

Communiqués EN
Partager via :

Two sensational races and plenty of action on the track were expected this weekend at Sebring, and the FIA WEC and IMSA did not disappoint across 12 hours of breakneck racing!

In LMP2, the #52 ORECA 07 fielded by PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports driven by Ben Keating, Mikkel Jensen and Scott Huffaker started from pole position and held the lead nearly the entire race for a magnificent victory. The 2021 champions finished one lap ahead of Racing Team Nederland’s #29 ORECA 07 shared by Frits van Eerd, Giedo van der Garde and Dylan Murry, already second at the Rolex 24 at Daytona. ERA Motorsport’s #18 ORECA 07 driven by Dwight Merriman, Kyle Tilley and Ryan Dalziel turned in an excellent showing to round out the podium.

The PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports team’s #11 sister car crossed the finish line in fourth place trailed by United Autosports and High Class Racing.

DragonSpeed USA’s #81 ORECA snatched the lead in the race for quite some time but was unable to avoid a crash with a GTD and an LMP3 that had left the track. The car was forced to retire in the third hour of racing. Lastly, the impressive pace initially maintained by Tower Motorsport’s #8 ORECA 07 was slowed due to an incident early in the race.

Despite remarkable top speed, neither Acura made it to the podium. Longtime race leader Wayne Taylor Racing’s #10 Acura ARX-05 was denied a podium finish when a 30-second penalty was incurred by Will Stevens for failing to go through the RFID reader exiting pit lane, so the trio Ricky Taylor, Filipe Albuquerque and Will Stevens finished in the fourth spot. Meyer Shank Racing’s #60 Acura driven by Oliver Jarvis, Tom Blomqvist and Stoffel Vandoorne had also held the lead, but after contact with an opponent the car was relegated to fifth place.

The third round of the 2022 IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship is set for the street circuit at Long Beach on 10 April.